The ground kisses Austrians

Austrians can kiss the ground

I loved Franz Klammer and Anton Innauer. The Austrian Olympic teams of the past were excellent and a bit charismatic, a group of quiet athletes who were stunning in the alpine and ski jumping events. My only knowledge of Austria previous to the Olympics came through the “Sound of Music” and from my Von Trapp Recorder books, where I learned to play a collection of Austrian folk songs to my mother’s dismay.

Here is Franz Klammer’s famous Olympic downhill run from 1976, complete with running commentary.

Author: annapirhana

Writer, former KUSF DJ and fan of the SF Giants/SJ Sharks/Great America 49ers. Love quality films, though I don't take things too seriously. If I told you what I do for a living, I'd have to tickle you.

Leave a comment